Primary Legislation

"Primary Legislation” refers to the legislation that is passed by Parliament. This includes the Family Justice Act 2014, which sets out the constitution and powers of the Family Justice Courts, and Acts relevant to matters within the jurisdiction of the Family Courts such as:- 

  • Administration of Muslim Law Act (Cap. 3)
  • Adoption of Children Act (Cap. 4)
  • Children and Young Persons Act (Cap. 38)
  • Criminal Procedure Code (Cap. 68)
  • Family Justice Act 2014 (Act 27 of 2014)
  • Guardianship of Infants Act (Cap. 122)
  • Inheritance (Family Provision) Act (Cap. 138)
  • International Child Abduction Act (Cap. 143C)
  • Intestate Succession Act (Cap. 146)
  • Legitimacy Act (Cap. 162)
  • Maintenance of Parents Act (Cap. 167B)
  • Maintenance Orders (Facilities for Enforcement) Act (Cap. 168)
  • Maintenance Orders (Reciprocal Enforcement) Act (Cap. 169)
  • Mental Capacity Act (Cap. 177A)
  • Mental Health (Care and Treatment) Act (Cap. 178A)
  • Probate and Administration Act (Cap. 251)
  • Status of Children (Assisted Reproduction Technology) Act 2013 (Act 16 of 2013)
  • Supreme Court of Judicature Act (Cap. 322)
  • Voluntary Sterilization Act (Cap. 347)
  • Vulnerable Adults Act 2018
  • Wills Act (Cap 352)
  • Women’s Charter (Cap. 353)

Secondary Legislation

"Secondary legislation" is a body of law comprised of rules and regulations made under powers conferred by primary legislation.

The Family Justice Rules are made in accordance with the provisions of the Family Justice Act 2014 and regulate and prescribe the procedure and practice to be followed for proceedings conducted in the Family Justice Courts. 

Note: Legislation is reproduced on this website with the permission of the Government of Singapore.  Acts of Parliament (primary legislation) and subsidiary legislation (secondary legislation) are available without charge, and updated daily, at the Singapore Statutes Online website.